Product detail

The Voyeur's Motel

The Voyeur's Motel

Author: Gay Talese
$19.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

June 2017

Description

On January 7, 1980, in the run-up to the publication of Thy Neighbor's Wife, Gay Talese received an anonymous letter from a man in Colorado. 'Since learning of your long awaited study of coast-to-coast sex in America,' the letter began, 'I feel I have important information that I could contribute to its contents or to contents of a future book.' The man went on to tell Talese a remarkable, shocking secret, so compelling that Talese travelled to Colorado to verify it in person. But because the letter-writer insisted on remaining anonymous, Talese filed his reporting away, certain the story would remain untold. Over the next thirty-five years, the man occasionally reached out to Talese to fill him in on the latest developments in his life, but he continued to insist on anonymity. Finally, after thirty-five years, he's ready to go public. In the tradition of Thy Neighbor's Wife, Talese's landmark, best-selling exploration of the sexual revolution in America, this will be a provocative, eye-opening and much-talked-about book.

Author description

Gay Talese is the bestselling author of twelve books, including Thy Neighbor's Wife, Unto the Sons and Honor Thy Father. He has written for numerous publications, including Esquire, The New Yorker, Newsweek and Harper's Magazine. Owing to these articles, Tom Wolfe credited Gay Talese with the creation of an inventive form of nonfiction writing called 'The New Journalism.' Talese lives with his wife, Nan, in New York City.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781611855302
  • : Allen & Unwin(Australia) Pty Ltd
  • : Allen & Unwin(Australia) Pty Ltd
  • : March 2017
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 18mm
  • : June 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Main
  • : Paperback
  • : Gay Talese
  • : 1 x 8pp colour photos
  • : 240
  • : 616.8583
  • : en