Product detail

Lily and Dunkin

Lily and Dunkin

Author: Donna Gephart
$34.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1

June 2016


Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you re in the eighth grade. Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change. A JLG Selection!An Indie Next Pick!Amazon Best Book of the Month!CBC's May Hot Off the Press! "Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--"Kirkus""A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."--"Booklist, starred" Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation [A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning. --PW" ""This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."--"VOYA""""


"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole."--"VOYA"

For readers who enjoyed "Wonder" and "Counting by 7's," award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love. ""Lily and Dunkin"is a delight. Here s a book for anyone who s ever struggled with being different--or anyone who s ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. Donna Gephart s book is about trans children, and bipolar children, and their parents, of course, but what it s really about is friendship, and the redeeming power of love. Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring. Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of "She s Not There," and "Stuck in the Middle with You." 

Author description

Donna Gephart s award-winning novels are packed with humor and heart. They include "Death by Toilet Paper"; "Olivia Bean, Trivia Queen"; "How to Survive Middle-School"; and "As if Being 12-3/4 Isn t Bad Enough, My Mother Is Running for President! "Donna is a popular speaker at schools, conferences, and book festivals. For reading guides, resources, writing tips, and more, visit"

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780553536744
  • : Delacorte Books for Young Readers
  • : Delacorte Books for Young Readers
  • : May 2016
  • : 216mm X 147mm X 28mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Donna Gephart
  • : illustrations
  • : 352
  • : Hardback