Howards End

Author(s): David (INT) E. M.; Lodge Forster

General Fiction

In "Howard's End", E.M. Forster unveils the English character as never before, exploring the underlying class warfare involving three distinct groups - a wealthy family bound by the rules of tradition and property, two independent, cultured sisters, and a young man living on the edge of poverty. The source of their conflict - Howards End, a house in the countryside which ultimately becomes a symbol of conflict within British society.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Edward Morgan Forster was born in London in 1879. He wrote six novels, four of which appeared before the First World War, Where Angels Fear to Tread (1905), The Longest Journey (1907), A Room with a View (1908), and Howard's End (1910). An interval of fourteen years elapsed before he published A Passage to India. It won both the Prix Femina Vie Heureuse and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. Maurice, his novel on a homosexual theme, finished in 1914, was published posthumously in 1971. He also published two volumes of short stories; two collections of essays; a critical work, Aspects of the Novel; The Hill of Devi, a fascinating record of two visits Forster made to the Indian State of Dewas Senior; two biographies; two books about Alexandria (where he worked for the Red Cross in the First World War); and, with Eric Crozier, the libretto for Britten's opera Billy Budd. He died in June 1970.

General Fields

  • : 9780141182131
  • : Penguin Group USA
  • : Penguin Group USA
  • : 0.5
  • : April 2000
  • : 196mm X 148mm X 15mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : August 1999
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Modern fiction; Classic fiction
  • : 336
  • : 99046546
  • : 823/.912
  • : English
  • : 1
  • : Paperback
  • : David (INT) E. M.; Lodge Forster