Product detail

I'll Give You the Sun

I'll Give You the Sun

Author: Jandy Nelson
$17.95 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

A story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal told from different points in time, and in separate voices, by artists Jude and her twin brother Noah. Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else--an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they'd have a chance to remake their world.


Shortlisted for Waterstones Children's Book Prize: Older Fiction 2016.


[A] breath taking, powerful roller-coaster story INIS magazine Does the almost impossible and improves upon the skill and beauty of The Sky is Everywhere -- Louise O'Neill, author of Only Ever Yours INIS magazine Exceptional ... a big, intense emotional rollercoaster... it is a novel of family conflict and resolution, coming of age, sexual orientation, bereavement; a story of love, at and wonder. Don't miss it The Bookseller An emotional roller coaster of a novel that explores love, relationships, desolation and hope as two twins try to find their way back to each other after a tragedy. Highly recommended. The Book Bag Jandy Nelson captures not only the language of the modern teenager... but also the lightning fast thought processes including the pinball-like way that their emotions switch from for to against. nudge books Dazzling New York Times This book will tear through you like a hurricane, leaving you in ruined awe The Huffington Post This (technically) young-adult novel jubilantly holds its own against the fall's grown-up offerings, with dead-on insights about surviving youth-and family O, the Oprah Magazine You'll feel this book in a big way A blazing, prismatic explosion of color ... Nelson's gifts in tackling huge subjects - death, grief, all-consuming love - with humor and gravitas will draw comparisons to the two reigning superstars of non-apocalyptic YA lit, John Green and Rainbow Rowell. But the intensity of her writing stands alone . I'll Give You the Sun is that rare, immersive teen novel: To read it is a coming-of-age experience in itself. Entertainment Weekly My April book of the Month, and one of this year's outstanding YA novels: this is an intense, breathtaking story of two siblings and of love, death, art and wonder. Fiona Noble The Bookseller -- Fiona Noble The Bookseller It is hardly news that YA fiction is all the rage but it is worth stating that it is deservedly so when books like this are being published. [...] this is one of the most relevant and enjoyable books I have read in a long time. -- Hot Hot 'I'll Give You The Sun is a breath-taking novel for young adults from the highly acclaimed writer Jandy Nelson. Hailed as 'the next John Green', it quickly becomes apparent why that's the case. Her characters have that same jump-right-off-the-page-and-into-your-heart thing going on. We become wrapped in them as we discover the truths of their minds and hearts... For me, these characters are more visceral, more believable, and more human than in anything else I've read. There is so much going on in this book it fills you up and makes you breathless. Noah's character spoke to me in particular; my only gripe with this wonderful book is that I would have loved to have it finish from his point of view. That said, I love it, and I urge you to read it. This is one of those books that if you let it; will change how you see yourself and those around you.' -- Julie Stirling We Red Writer My April book of the Month, and one of this year's outstanding YA novels: this is an intense, breathtaking story of two siblings and of love, death, art and wonder. -- Fiona Noble The Bookseller A radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying - all at once. -- World Book Day World Book Day A compelling read. -- Reading Zone Reading Zone I reckon it's the best I've read in a long time. Jandy Nelson manages to create an absorbing story not just about brother/sister love, jealousy and rivalry, but if relationships in all their permutations written in a unique style that I found very moving and totally engaging. I would urge people to read it as it's one of those books that stay with you and I will certainly be reading Jandy Nelson's first novel The Sky is Everywhere as, if this book is anything to go by, she is an extremely talented writer. -- New Books Magazine New Books Magazine Nelson really gets inside the teenage mindset, particularly the way her characters struggle with love and relationships. The characters and their voices are so vivid and imaginative, it's hard not to relate to them as if they were real, so despite my initial misgivings, I was still thinking about this a long time after I finished the last page. Highly recommended. -- The Book Bag The Book Bag This is a long book but worth every second of the journey. -- LGBT YA LGBT YA Touching and heartfelt tale of twins for fans of John Green. **** -- Heat Magazine Heat Magazine Stands out in a young adult genre. Intense and wonderful, this is a book to savour. -- Absolutely Wimbledone Absolutely Wimbledone If you love words and those who use them beautifully, this is your book of the year. -- Mountains of Instead Mountains of Instead I found I'll Give You the Sun to be one of the most captivating books I've read. -- The Guardian Online The Guardian Online The words flowed like a poem. Everything was so easy to visualise, so real. The storyline is so crisp and different, so easy to read and not stop reading... -- The Guardian Online The Guardian Online Nelson is definitely one to watch -- S Magazine S Magazine This is young adult realism in Technicolour, saturated with light and punctuated with darkness [...] Nelson is producing the kind of YA books you don't have to be young to read. -- The Herald The Herald Overall this was an amazing read which I can't recommend enough. -- Guardian Children's Book Site Guardian Children's Book Site Each twin speaks in turn through this tale that keeps you wondering which one of them is the reliable narrator. -- Independent Bookshop Week supplement The Guardian This tense, moving and vivid YA novel should appeal to older teenagers who love to immerse themselves in character, language, art, and emotion. The School Librarian An immersive read about love, grief and sculpture, Nelson, who started out as a poet, writes beautifully. -- Sarah Webb Irish Independent Sensual, heart-rending and quirky, this novel is powerfully and poetically told. Armadillo Magazine A rollercoaster story that will pick all readers up and sweep them along in a story that is romantic, tragic, funny and profound. Love Reading 4 Kids Original, ambitious and full of richness and colour, from the author of The Sky Is Everywhere. -- Imogen Russell-Williams Teens on Moon Lane Tough and teary with some challenging moments as the revelations come thick and fast for the grand finale, you'll probably end up reading this yourself (and loving every minute) - it's the sort of book teens will want to discuss for some time after reading. And then they'll probably want to talk about it some more. -- Damian Kelleher The book reads like a surreal painting, some gorgeous work of art you might sigh at in a museum, particularly in Noah's narratives, as he paints the world in his mind [...] If you love YA, then definitely pick up a copy of I'll Give You The Sun. Hell, grab a copy even if you don't like YA. You will not regret it. -- Laura Fulton Maximum Pop! Unusually structured and poetically written, I'll Give You the Sun is the story of life, loss and art as twins Noah and Jude each give their perspective on the deterioration of their once close relationship over the course of three years. This is an incredibly visual, quirky and imaginative tale; although the style may not be for everyone, the characters of Jude and Noah are so real and relatable, it is impossible to avoid being drawn into their story. A heartbreaking and heartwarming tale. Inis Reading Guide In the same vein as Nelson's first novel, The Sky is Everywhere, this is an achingly beautiful story for fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green and Gayle Foreman. Make sure you keep some tissues close by. The Scotsman

Author description

Jandy Nelson's books have been published all over the world. I'll Give You the Sun has been optioned by Warner Bros, with Denise Di Novi and Alison Greenspan (who are behind the upcoming adaptation of Gayle Forman's If I Stay) behind the deal. The Sky Is Everywhere, Jandy's debut novel, was selected as a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults title and a Junior Library Guild Selection as well as being longlisted for the Carnegie Medal. Jandy lives in San Francisco and is madly in love with California, how it teeters on the edge of the continent. Follow Jandy on Twitter @jandynelson or visit her online at

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781406326499
  • : Walker Books Ltd
  • : Walker Books Ltd
  • : March 2015
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : en
  • : 428
  • : Paperback
  • : 14 – 17
  • : Jandy Nelson