Product detail

Burial Rites

Burial Rites

Author: Hannah Kent
$14.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

SHORTLISTED FOR THE STELLA PRIZE THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2014 "Burial Rites is beautiful and compelling's the announcement of a writer to watch." Guardian "A gripping tale." New York Times In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnusdottir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of two men. Agnes is sent to wait on the farm of District Officer Jon Jonsson and his family, who are horrified and avoid Agnes. Only Toti, the young assistant reverend appointed as Agnes's spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the summer months fall away to winter, Agnes's story begins to emerge. And as the days to her execution draw closer, the question burns: did she or didn't she? Based on a true story, Burial Rites is a deeply moving novel about freedom and the ways we will risk everything for love. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland's formidable landscape, and asks: how can one woman endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others? "An outstandingly good debut ...I found myself spellbound ...Kent has done a great deal of research and transformed its results into a work of art." Literary Review Fans of Anna Funder's All That I Am and Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist will love Burial Rites.


Winner of Fellowship of Australian Writers (FAW) Awards: Christina Stead Award 2014 and Sydney Morning Herald Best Young Australian Novelists 2014 and ABIA Australian Literary Fiction Book of the Year 2014. Shortlisted for Stella Prize 2014 and Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2014 and Australian Literature Society Gold Medal 2014 and Guardian First Book Award 2013 and CAL Waverley Library Award for Literature ('The Nib') 2013.

Author description

Hannah Kent was born in Adelaide in 1985. As a teenager she travelled to Iceland on a Rotary Exchange, where she first heard the story of Agnes Magnusdottir. Hannah is the co-founder and deputy editor of Australian literary journal Kill Your Darlings, and is completing her PhD at Flinders University. In 2011 she won the inaugural Writing Australia Unpublished Manuscript Award. Burial Rites is her first novel.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781743549551
  • : Pan Macmillan Australia
  • : Picador Australia
  • : February 2016
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : Australia
  • : April 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : en
  • : 352
  • : Paperback
  • : Hannah Kent